Following a protracted and continued proceedings on Contempt of Parliament for the past two days, the Rt. Hon. Speaker of Parliament, Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu has on Thursday 17th January 2019 ordered the detention of Dr. James Vibbi, the Executive Director of Produce Marketing Board, until the next adjourned date on Tuesday 22nd January 2019 for procedural breach and “for having been found guilty of Contempt of Parliament”, pending the determination of a motion that had been moved and seconded for the withdrawal of his approval by Parliament as Executive Director of the said Board.

The motion was moved and seconded by the Acting Leader of Government Business and the Opposition Whip, Hon. Mathew S. Nyuma and Hon. Hassan Sesay, respectively.

In light of the three orders that were issued by the Speaker of Parliament, Dr. Vibbi only complied with two relating to apology and the withdrawal of a letter of effrontery he had written to Hon. Veronica K. Sesay, Chairperson of the Committee on Trade, with the exception of his blatant refusal to re-instate the officers he had suspended and subsequently sacked on allegation of fraud without due process. He consistently refused to adhere to the third order on re-instatement, even at the expense of his job.

In another development, the Parliament of Sierra Leone has on Thursday 17th January 2019 debated and approved Five Conventions relating to safety and protection of Sierra Leonean employees both in and outside the country.

Following the presentation of the Conventions by the Deputy Minister of Labour and Social Security, Lansana M. Dumbuya, MPs who contributed to the motion described the Conventions as “non-controversial and that they are in line with international best practice”, aimed at protecting the rights of the citizenry of Sierra Leone working both in and out of the country.

The following Conventions have been ratified by Parliament:

I. Convention 97-Migration for Employment Convention (Revised) 1949

II. Convention 143-Migrant Workers (Supplementary Provisions) 1975

III. Convention 155-Occupational Safety and Health, 1981

IV. Convention 187-Promotional Framework for Occupational Safety and Health Recommendation, 2006 and

V. Maritime Labour Convention, 2006

Department of Public Relations
Parliament of Sierra Leone


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here